News & Events


Kate is honored to announce that she is a recipient of a 2012 Lannan Literary Fellowship. For more information about Lannan Foundation, please visit their website.

“Arrival: Late June, 2004,” an excerpt from Kate’s novel-in-progress, The Fayum Portraits, has been published in the Winter 2012 issue of Switchback. Read it here.

Kate’s original recipe for Millionaire Squares — and the story behind the cookie’s creation — has been published in the December 2011 issue of AARP Magazine.

Cakewalk is a finalist for the 2011 Northern California Book Award in Creative Nonfiction! chooses Cakewalk as one of “5 Best Non-Cookbook Food Books of 2010“!

NPR includes Cakewalk in their list of favorite memoirs of 2010. Here’s the story on Many thanks Nancy Pearl!

Cakewalk chosen as one of the 16  ”most notable cookbooks of 2010″ vying for “The Piglet” trophy in’s Tournament of Cookbooks!

For fans of Cakewalk and Wintering:
Narrative Magazine has published “Chocolate Cake for Diane,” Kate’s tribute to the late biographer Diane Middlebrook, whose genius for friendship and gusto for life was the inspiration behind Cakewalk.

For fans of Wintering and Sylvia Plath:
To celebrate the 10th anniversary of the publication of The Journals of Sylvia Plath edited by Karen V. Kukil, the online journal Plath Profiles has just republished Kate’s groundbreaking essay on Plath and the journals, originally a cover story in Salon. You can find “The Real Sylvia Plath” here.

For fans of Wintering and Cakewalk:
“Baking for Sylvia,” a chapter “outtake” from Cakewalk, has just been published in the online journal Plath Profiles


Thursday March 8, 2012, 7-9pm:
Why There Are Words Literary Reading Series
“Unspeakable” readings by Chris Cole, Timothy Crandle, Krys Lee, Meghan Thornton, Barry Willdorf
& Kate Moses
Studio 333, Sausalito, CA


Kate is happy to connect with your membership via skype, email or, for San Francisco Bay Area clubs, in person. Please contact Kate to make arrangements.